The Prepress Checklist

To minimize the amount of time it takes to get your project produced, we have put together a short checklist of items you should make sure you’ve done before you send us your files.

__ I have a folder with a descriptive title in which I will place all my files

__ If my file has elements that touch the page edge, I have added 1/8” bleed
*Not sure what bleed is? Check out our post on bleeds here.

__  All of my images have been converted from RGB/Lab/Index color to CMYK

__ If I have any black text, it is solid black only, NOT process/CMYK/rich black
*Learn more about the differences in blacks here.

__ I have included my fonts in the file folder
*Learn more about Packaging in InDesign here.

__ I have included my images in the file folder
*Learn more about Packaging in InDesign here.

__ All of my images are high resolution (at least 300 dpi)
*Learn more about bad image resolution here.

__ My file reflects the correct PMS colors that will be in my piece

__ If my file is 4-color process, all PMS colors have been converted to CMYK
*Learn more about how to check color settings here.

__ My special process elements (Spot UV, Spot Varnish, Dieline, etc.) are indicated by a spot color
*Learn more about how to check color settings here.

__ All of my raster images are saved as .tif, .eps, or .psd (.jpg OK but not preferred)
*Learn more about raster images here.

__ All of my vector artwork (logos, illustrations, etc.) is saved as .eps, .ai, or .pdf
*Learn more about vector images here.

__ My document file size matches the final size I’d like my piece to be

__ If I am transferring my files over an FTP or Dropbox like application, I have compressed my projects folder into a zip file.

One thought on “The Prepress Checklist

  1. Pingback: Print Specs 101 | Metropolitan

Leave a Reply

